STAR Symposium Committee Receives Excellence Award

The STAR Symposium Committee received an “Overall-in-All” Excellence Award at the 2018 Minnesota eLearning Summit. The committee received the award for the work they’ve done to plan and successfully implement the STAR Symposium All Day Virtual Teaching and Learning Conference for the past three years. The “overall-in-all” designation indicates excellence in all three award categories: innovation, collaboration, and impact.

eLearning Summit 2018

The STAR Symposium is a virtual one-day conference hosted annually by the Minnesota Online Quality Initiative (MOQI). Coordinated by the MOQI Coordinators (Elizabeth McMahon and Robin O’Callaghan), the STAR Symposium celebrates excellence in teaching and learning by providing an avenue for individuals to share best practices, ideas, and resources with colleagues within and outside of Minnesota. The Symposium includes a keynote address, featured session, and multiple concurrent sessions in an easy-to-navigate format that provides participants opportunities to learn and share strategies that positively impact face-to-face, blended, and online courses and/or programs.

The idea for the STAR Symposium grew out of a desire to find better ways for faculty from Minnesota State institutions to share and learn about effective practices in teaching and learning. Lacking resources to provide a face-to-face conference, the MOQI Coordinators assembled a team to design and deliver the STAR Symposium as a low-cost, virtual, interactive one-day conference. A radical departure from a traditional conference, this required creativity and imagination to build an infrastructure, market and sell the value of the new idea, and provide supports to presenters and participants to ensure a high-quality, user-friendly, engaging experience. After only three years, the very successful Symposium has expanded beyond system borders to include national and international presenters and participants.

The award was given to the following individuals to recognize their contributions, creativity and innovation, exceptional collaboration, and extraordinary impact on teaching and learning:

Elizabeth McMahon, Northland Community and Technical College
Dorinda Sorvig, Northland Community and Technical College
Robin O’Callaghan, Winona State University
Mary O’Brien, Winona State University
Rita Rahoi-Gilchrest, Winona State University
Angie Anderson, Anoka-Ramsey Community College
Miki Huntington, Minneapolis Community College
Carla Johanson, Distance Minnesota Support Center
Kimberly Johnson, Minnesota State System Office
Carrie Miller, Minnesota State University, Mankato
Darcy Turner, University of St. Thomas
Roseann Wolak, Saint Cloud State University

QM Certified Courses – May & June 2018

The following courses received QM Certification during May and June, 2018.

Please congratulate these faculty course developers for their commitment to creating online and blended courses that demonstrate quality course design principles.

Quality Matters LogoThese courses have been formally reviewed using the official Quality Matters course review process and meet Quality Matters Standards for course design.  QM certified courses are listed in QM’s national database of certified courses and each faculty member has been given a QM seal to display with the online or blended course.

Bemidji State University

BUAD 2280 Computer Business Applications (Blended Course)     Faculty/ Course Developer: Kari Wood
NRSG3100 Concepts in Nursing and Health Care (Blended Course) Faculty/ Course Developer: Nancy Hall

Century College

ENGL 2073 Short Novel     Faculty/Course Developer: Kelly Donahue

Hennepin Technical College

ECON2300 Principles of Macroeconomics     Faculty/ Course Developer: Scott Sandok
BIOL2003 Nutrition and Health (Blended Course)     Faculty/ Course Developer: Diane Hallberg

Ridgewater College

CMST 223 Listening     Faculty/ Course Developer: Julie Bredeson
CMST 220 Public Speaking     Faculty/ Course Developer: Julie Bredeson
CMST 121 Introduction to Communication     Faculty/ Course Developer: Julie Bredeson

Riverland Community College

PHIL 1130 Ethics     Faculty/ Course Developer: Tanya Whitehouse
BUSO 2655 Introduction to Electronic Health Records     Faculty/ Course Developer: Sheryl Barton

Minnesota State University, Mankato

MGMT 481 Business Policy and Strategy     Faculty/ Course Developer: Cheryl Trahms

Minnesota State University, Moorhead

PSY220 Social Behavior (Blended Course)     Faculty/ Course Developer: Rochelle Bergstrom

South Central College

OTEC 1820 Business English    Faculty/ Course Developer: Lori Hood



View the list of all courses that have met QM Standards within the Colleges and Universities of Minnesota State & University of Minnesota.