STAR Symposium 2018 Wrap-Up

Thank you to Presenters and Participants

Thanks to all who worked to make the 2018 STAR Symposium a great success and to all of the presenters and participants who joined us for the day. The all-day virtual conference was held February 9, 2018. Here’s a quick summary of the day:

  • The day started with a Keynote by Dr. Todd Zakrajsek, (University of North Carolina School of Medicine) during which he presented recent findings in the area of brain-based learning with respect to how best to teach for effective and efficient student learning. His session, Teaching for Brain-based Learning, was recorded and includes practical ideas that can be implemented into almost any course.
  • The symposium featured twenty-four concurrent sessions that were delivered via four virtual meeting rooms throughout the day. A full list of sessions and presenters can be viewed in the STAR Symposium Conference Guide.
  • The day concluded with a Featured Session by Dr. Malynnda Johnson (Indiana State University). Her session, Building Connections Across Communities: Creating Public Voice by Integrating Technology into Classroom Experiences, was also recorded.
  • There were 220 participants including 180 participants from twenty-nine Minnesota State institutions; and, 40 participants from the University of Minnesota, the College of St. Scholastica, University of St. Thomas, and from many other institutions from across the United States.

2018 STAR Symposium Presenters

STAR Symposium 2018 Presenter (2)The STAR Symposium Planning Committee would like to thank all of the presenters for sharing their time and expertise. The STAR Symposium Conference Guide provides more information about the specific sessions for each presenter.

  • Todd Zakrajsek, University of North Carolina Medical School
  • Malynnda Johnson, Indiana State University
  • Mary Lebens, Anoka Technical College
  • Camille Brandt, Bemidji State University
  • Lisa Krall, Bemidji State University
  • Jessamay Pesek, Bemidji State University
  • Lisa Schmitz, Bemidji State University
  • Kate Larson, Bemidji State University
  • Shelli Wynants, California State University, Fullerton
  • Ken Moyer, California State University, Fullerton
  • Cynthia Harley, Metropolitan State University
  • Troy Dvorak, Minneapolis Community and Technical College
  • Miki Huntington, Minneapolis Community and Technical College
  • Jennifer Sippel, Minneapolis Community and Technical College
  • Bayla McDougal, Minneapolis Community and Technical College
  • Laura Schwarz, Minnesota State University, Mankato
  • Bradley Wolfe, Minnesota State University, Mankato
  • Elizabeth Pluskwik, Minnesota State University, Mankato
  • Eleanor Leung, Minnesota State University, Mankato
  • Julie Swaggart, Minnesota State University, Moorhead
  • Lisa Karch Minnesota State University, Moorhead
  • Susan Stein, Pacific University
  • Kerry Marrer, St. Cloud State University
  • Kate Mooney, St. Cloud State University
  • Kris Portz, St. Cloud State University
  • Roseann Wolak, st. Cloud State University
  • Nancyruth Leibold, Southwest Minnesota State University
  • Kate Borowske, Southwest Minnesota State University
  • Rob Larson, The College of St. Scholastica
  • Eric Mistry, The College of St. Scholastica
  • Melissa Goodson, The College of St. Scholastica
  • Meg McBride, The College of St. Scholastica
  • Nikki Schutte, The College of St. Scholastica
  • Ashley Castleberry, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
  • Nima Salehi, University of Minnesota
  • Peg Sherven, University of Minnesota
  • Christiane Reilly, University of Minnesota
  • Seena Haines, University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy
  • Robin O’Callaghan, Winona State University

STAR Symposium 2018 Committee (2)2018 STAR Symposium Planning Committee

Angie Anderson, Anoka Ramsey Community College
Miki Huntington, Minneapolis Community and Technical College
Carla Johanson, Distance Minnesota Support Center
Kimberly Johnson, Minnesota State System Office
Elizabeth McMahon, Northland Community and Technical College
Carrie Miller, Minnesota State University, Mankato
Mary O’Brien, Winona State University
Robin O’Callaghan, Winona State University
Rita Rahoi-Gilchrest, Winona State University
Dorinda Sorvig, Northland Community and Technical College
Darcy Turner, University of St. Thomas
Roseann Wolak, St. Cloud State University

The 2018 STAR Symposium Planning Committee wants to hear from you! Please contact us if you have an idea or suggestion for how we might improve the conference for next year.

One thought on “STAR Symposium 2018 Wrap-Up

  1. One of the best conferences I have been to in a long time. I learned a great deal that I can share with others. Minimal cost and virtual. It just doesn’t get any better than this. I will be sure to share this with faculty early on next year so they can attend also.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s