STAR Symposium 2017 Wrap-up

Thank you to Presenters and Participants

Thanks to all who worked to make the 2017 STAR Symposium a great success and to all of the presenters and participants from across the United States and Canada. The all-day virtual conference was held February 10, 2017. Here’s a quick summary of the day:

  • The day started with a Keynote by Dr. Rajiv Jhangiani (Kwantlen Polytechnic University) on the importance of moving towards the use of open educational practices in our courses. His session, Innovating with Openness: Changing Our Approach, was recorded and is meant to be shared.
  • The symposium featured twenty concurrent sessions that were delivered via four virtual meeting rooms throughout the day. A full list of sessions and presenters can be viewed in the STAR Symposium Conference Guide.
  • The day concluded with a Featured Session by Dr. Hope Nordstrom & Keith O’Neal (both from Lipscomb University). Their session, EduBytes- The Digital Tool Buffet, was also recorded.
  • There were 185 participants including participants from twenty-four Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, the University of Minnesota and from twenty other institutions.
  • Altogether, there were participants and presenters from eighteen different states.
  • star-symposium-7New at this year’s symposium were the conference badges that were awarded to participants and presenters. Committee members also received a special badge.

The STAR Symposium Planning Committee would like to thank all of the presenters for sharing their time and expertise.

2017 STAR Symposium Presenters

Rajiv Jhangiani, Kwantlen Polytechnic University
Hope Nordstrom, Lipscomb University
Keith O’Neal, Lipscomb University
Kimberly Johnson, Minnesota State system office
Karen Pikula, Central Lakes College
Jenessa Gerling, Hennepin Technical College
Karen LaPlant, Hennepin Technical College
Jenny Prochnow, Winona State University
Susan Stein, Pacific University Oregon
Ashely Castleberry, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, College of Pharmacy
Seena Haines, University of Mississippi
Mary Anderson, Winona State University
Jennifer Kepka, Lane Community College/Linn Benton Community College
Norb Thomes, Winona State University
Robin O’Callaghan, Winona State University
Caroline Hilk, Hamline University
Meghan Sinning, Winona State University
Kristen Genet, Anoka-Ramsey Community College
Michael Manderfeld, Minnesota State University, Mankato
Emily Stark, Minnesota State University, Mankato
April Kerby, Winona State University
Suzanne Schlangen, Minnesota State System Office
James Kirk, Winona State University
Tina Rettler-Pagel, Madison College
Carrie Miller, Minnesota State University, Mankato
Peter Johnson, South Central College
Kelly Sjerven, Rainy River Community College


The 2017 STAR Symposium Planning Committee wants to hear from you! Please contact us if you have an idea or suggestion for how we might improve the conference for next year.

2017 STAR Symposium Planning Committee

Angie Anderson, Anoka Ramsey Community College
Mary Bohman, Winona State University
Miki Huntington, Minneapolis Community and Technical College
Carla Johanson, Distance Minnesota Support Center
Kimberly Johnson, Minnesota State System Office
Elizabeth McMahon, Northland Community and Technical College
Carrie Miller, Minnesota State University, Mankato
Robin O’Callaghan, Winona State University
Rita Rahoi-Gilchrest, Winona State University
Kelly Sjerven, Rainy River Community College
Dorinda Sorvig, Northland Community and Technical College
Darcy Turner, University of St. Thomas
Roseann Wolak, St. Cloud State University




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s